Steve Bug set to release album Noir

Steve Bug, one of the world’s most renowned artists in the electronic music circuit, is set to release his fifth studio album and his most mature to date. Originally planned as a concept album about film noir, Steve found that idea too rigid and decided to use it more as the underlying inspiration like in the tracks“The Spiral Staircase,” “Somewhere in the Night” and “Seventh Victim.” Noir evokes a world of shady transactions and secret crimes, where the tracks emit a dark and moody atmosphere. Although the film noir concept isn’t carried through completely, it infuses the spirit of the record in a way reminiscent of the sci-fi obsession of Jeff Mills or Carl Craig. Tracks such as the pre-released single “Those Grooves” and “No Adjustments,” play in to a vision of an apocalyptic-dystopian disco with their evocative spoken word.

The material for the new album was created over a period of three years, which makes its consistency and coherence all the more impressive. Ghostly sounds conspire amidst relentless beats like in my favorite track “Serve Your Mistress” and although the album is driven by head-rushing beats, Noir is a listening album more than anything.

Steve Bug has crafted a rounded, dark, and sophisticated album that casts a shadow over most contemporary dance albums. Noir is worth more than a few listens—it is worth your undivided attention.

Steve Bug - “Noir” (Poker Flat Recordings)


01. Tell Me Why 

02. Poison Of Choice 

03. Serve Your Mistress 

04. No Adjustments feat. Foremost Poets 

05. The Spiral Staircase 

06. Moment Of Ease feat. Emilie Chick 

07. Those Grooves 

08. Somewhere In The Night 

09. Farewell Friend 

10. The Seventh Victim


Steve Bug ‘Noir’ is released 1st October 2012 on Poker Flat Recordings

Jessysjukebox July Chart

1. American Dream (Supernova Remix)- Jakatta, Joey Negro

2. Mystics-Dusky

3. Salty Days- Smallpeople

4. Work Your Body (audiojack remix)- Daniel Dexter

5. Night and Day (Dusky Remix): Hot Chip

6. House of Jesus (Oscar G Miami Heat Remix): Dax Gaeten

7. Confess- Floorplan

8. Ellipsis- Joy Orbison

9. NoNo- The Glitz

10. Only- NIkola Gala

Alex Niggemann’s debut LP “Paranoid Funk”

Release date: June 4, 2012 on Poker Flat Recordings

26 year-old Alex Niggemann wasn’t always making funky house music, the Berlin-based music producer used to be a classical pianist before he traversed a more technological path.

For his debut album, Alex had one goal in mind,“to create an album which is different to typical club or listening albums…. where songs fit together (even when having different styles) without being too similar“.  Alex not only accomplished his goal but also created an album full of sounds that are edgy, sexy, and at times dark yet always funky and fresh. Paranoid Funk is an entertaining “funkoction” made up of seductive club bangers and contemplative tunes fit for a chill evening at your casa. Alex planned it this way; he wanted the album to reflect the social aspect of his music and its twofold function as a dance record and the soundtrack to everyday life. Paranoid Funk is bound to be a summer 2012 hit and a future house classic. 9/10 stars


  1. Don’t Wait
  2. The Sweetest Thing (with Daniel Solar)
  3. Curious
  4. Easy Love (with Florian Schirmacher)
  5. That Is…!?
  6. Come Into My World
  7. Parentless Child
  8. I Don’t Care (Ride Mix)
  9. Street Therapy
  10. Back 2 Basics feat. Benji
  11. Lovers feat. Daniel John Rydell

Winter Music Conference is just around the corner and I’m attending! Don’t worry, I’ll be updating everyone live from pool parties, panels, showcases and the IDMA awards! To get everyone excited, I’m sharing a WMC mix that my sensational boyfriend, DJ Phil Minnick, created (on all vinyl, too).

enjoy and get excited!

  1. Layo & Bushwacka!-Love Story
  2. Tiefschwarz-On Up
  3. Bryan Jones-Chicago Jack
  4. Jacob London-No Farting in the Ice Fort (Jason Hodges Remix)
  5. Inland Knights-A Place to Dig
  6. Crazy Penis-Get it On
  7. Miguel Migs-Bump Selecta
  8. Fred Everything feat. Roy Davis Jr.-Next To Me (Vocal Dub)
  9. Marques Wyatt-For Those Who Like to Get Down
  10. Iz & Diz-Love Vibe (Main Mix)
  11. Kaskade-It’s You, It’s Me (Marques Wyatt’s Deep Interpretation Remix)
  12. Colette-Didn’t Mean To Turn You On (Smitty & Coco Remix)
  13. Andy Caldwell & jay-J feat. Latrice-Give A Little (Andy’s Original Dose)
  14. The Beard feat. Amma-Keep Hoping (Andy Caldwell Remix)
  15. Groove Junkies feat. Indeya-Gonna Get By (GJ Peak Hour Mix)
  16. Michelle Weeks-The Light (Jamie Lewis Dub)
  17. Tensnake-Coma Cat (Mark Knight Remix)
  18. Booka Shade-Body Language (Funkagenda’s Tell Em’ About the Combs Remix)
  19. ATFC-Tropacana (Original Club Mix
  20. Saeed Younan-Yeah Ha
  21. Cajmere-Percolator (Claude VonStroke Remix)
  22. Felix Da Housecat-Silver Screen (Origitnal)
  23. John Dahlback-Jenna
  24. Danny Tenaglia feat. Liz Torres-Turn Me On (John Digweed & Nick Muir’s Bedrock Mix)
  25. Eat Static-Gulf Breeze (Sasha’s Afroshashoz Mix)
  26. Green Velvet-Flash (Danny Tenaglia’s Nitrous Oxide Mix)
  27. Style of Eye-Fanfar
  28. Laidback Luke & DJ DLG-Ambition (Mashtronic Mix)
  29. Sander Kleinenberg-This is Miami (Funkagenda’s This is the Weatherspoons Mix)
  30. Carl Craig AKA Paperclip People-Clear & Present
  31. Mark Farina-We Gotta Get//Carl Craig-Clear & Present